April 2017
« Mar   May »



Round 1, MSA British Superkart Championship

by / Tuesday, 11 April 2017 / Published in Blog / News, Karting





High Speed Action comes to Bishopscourt


The weekend got underway with competitors arriving early Thursday morning in the sunshine of the co Down Circuit and getting set up to compete in Round 1 of the British Long circuit Superkart Championship. As the day went on it was apparent of the support coming from the mainland with teams arriving from different ferry crossings across the length and breadth of England, Scotland & Wales. Action was to get underway with open practice for all classes and straight away competitors tried to get up to speed on the fast flowing Bishopscourt Race Circuit. Friday afternoon seen the teams prepare for timed qualifying with the local drivers showing they could be in the mix with Noel Brennan being right up there 2nd quickest behind Liam Morley in the 125 class, as the 250 Nationals took to the circuit they too had been pushing hard to get up to speed but some teams were struggling and taking longer than others. Jack Layton topped the times in qually getting position 1 on the grid for race 1 with Andy Bird alongside Followed by Paul Platt & Gavin Bennett. Then came the 250 Div 1 were Liam Morley would top the tables and dominate the class as he does on a regular basis but the big surprise was local driver Stuart Coey was close behind out qualifying Carl Hume and Dave Harvey which was impressive as these guys would be regulars in the European field. Then came the smallest grid with the 450 Superkarts and as only 2 was entered and filtered into the Div 1 Grid with Andy Waite topping the tables and James Clark in second position.



Well due to a late start as a result of an Ambulance being late we finally got underway 30 min late, with all classes out for their practice including the Class 1 direct drive karts. 125 Superkarts had 2 x great races with Dan Edwards taking the best result over the 2 x races closely followed by Liam Morley and James O’Keeffe. Race 3 had to be cancelled due to a driver getting injured at the start of the 125 race 3 resulting in an ambulance being sent with the driver and racing for the long circuit had then to be cancelled as a result of this.

The 250 Nationals seen Jack Layton top the tables over race 1 & 2 closely followed by Paul Platt & Gavin Bennett and again due to no ambulance for race 3 it resulted in that race being cancelled.

250 Honda drivers in the National class ended up with different winners in both races but with Andrew Johnson topping the tables followed by Luke Burton and William Lawrence and again results were based on the first 2 x races.

250 Div 1 had Liam Morley top the tables in both races with Stuart Coey and Carl Hulme closely behind but running into technical difficulties in one or both races took them out of the leader board, Morley was followed by Dave Harvey and Tom Rushforth finishing in that order lifting the trophies on the day.

450 Superkarts finished up with Andy Waite taking the top step followed closely by James Clark.

Class 1 Direct drive saw the impressive Bambinos out in action with children from the age of 6 competing and Kenzie McNally taking all 4 wins to take the top spot with Charlie Gardiner and Kyle Irvine close behind.

Cadet Honda saw Cameron Sinclair lift the top spot in the final with Gavin Dewart & Bobby Joe McFall closely behind.

Cadet Iame saw Peadar O’Boyle take the top spot from Zach Rodgers and Pearce Murtagh who followed close behind.

Mini Max saw Robert Orr a new comer to the class dominate the final to take the top spot closely followed by Lewis Duff and Poppy Kelly.

Jun Max saw Nathan Glenn dominate in front of Ryan O’Boyle and Jack Irvine in the final race.

Senior Max saw Jack McGaughey take the top spot from Derek Wilson & Jason Curran finishing 3rd

World Formula saw Melanie Campbell Take the top spot from Marc Vasey on the podium.

All in all a very busy day and due to several delays throughout the day led us running late but a great event was had by all and the committee of Bishopscourt Kart Club wish to thank all for supporting the club and we look forward in our September Event.

Full Results can be found here

See Photos in galleries section

Richard Dewart

Waringstown Service Centre

40 Moss Road



Co Armagh, BT66 7QY

Northern Ireland

Tel: 02838881261

Fax: 02838881453

Mob: 07767656619 (24Hr)

E Mail:  

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.