September 2017
« Aug   Oct »



Jason Lynn Wins David Wood Memorial Trophy

by / Monday, 25 September 2017 / Published in Blog / News, Motor Bike Racing

Jason Lynn won the David Wood Memorial Trophy this weekend at Bishopscourt Racing Circuit. In a new format for this year the winner of the trophy was contested over four races. In a 33 race programme over two days held in mixed conditions there was an abundance of drama.

As the riders lined up for the sail to pole on Saturday the rain started and the red flags came out after just one lap, the rerun session saw Supersport Cup rider Kia McGreevy quickest earning him the Nutt Travel £150 cheque.

Supersort race one it was the McGreevy brothers Korie and Kia that fought it out in a dramatic duel in the tricky conditions, both riders taking their turn at the front, Korie led into the final lap but it was Kia who snatched the win in the final stages. Christian Elkin finished third, Mark Abraham fourth and Jason Lynn completing the top five.

After Saturdays rain Sundays track conditions started out wet but by the time the first supersport race was run the track was quickly drying making tyre choice a bit of a lottery. Korie McGreevy was out to make amends for his defeat by his younger brother on Saturday, he made the perfect start streching his lead lap on lap but on the second to last lap a crash in the final corner brought out the red flags and the race was declared McGreevy getting the win five seconds ahead of second place Eunan McGlinchey, Aaron Clifford third, Jason Lynn fourth and Ross Patterson fifth.

Race three it was Lynns turn to taste victory. From the start it was a close battle with hardly a bikes length separating half a dozen riders, Lynn took to the front from the off, him McGreevy and Patterson making a break from the rest of the pack, lap nine of ten McGreevy made his move into the lead, this however was short lived when on the final lap both he and Ross Patterson dropped out of the chase leaving Lynn to take the win from Eunan McGlinchy and Christian Elkin.

Race four was another close fight in the opening laps this time between Lynn, Aaron Armstrong and Eunan McGlinchy. Aaron Clifford not making the best of starts fought his way back to the front eventually taking the lead from Lynn on lap seven and taking the win by a fraction over a second, the runner up spot Giving Jason Lynn enough points to lift the David Wood Memorial Trophy. Championship contender Korie McGreevy had to borrow a bike due to his mechanical issues in the previous race to try and salvage some points managed to finish in seventh place.

In the Superbike races it was Cody Nally who won the opening race on Saturday in wet conditions he put on a dominant show beating Ryan Gibson to the flag by over four seconds and British Superstock rider Carl Philips third.

Nally folowed his Saturday win with another in the first of Sundays superbike races this time it was Philips who was runner up and Gibson third.

Race three Philips wasted no time in passing Nally to take the lead in the opening lapsbut on lap four the hard chasing Nally slipped off in the second to last corner leaving Philips to take the chequered flag four seconds ahead of Gerard Kinghan and Charles Stuart in third.

Superbike four Philips had his second win of the day Charles Stuart, Cody Nally and Gerard Kinghan were locked in a fight closley behind the Lisburn man when Nally had a huge highside exiting the same corner where he slid off in the previous race, so it was Philips first with Stuart and Kinghan just over a second behind in second and third place.

Philips also had a hatrick of wins in the Lightweight Supersport races earning him the man of the meeting award.

Supertwins victories were shared between Marty Lennon and Simon Ried with two wins a piece.

More pictures can be viewed in the galleries section

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.