April 2019
« Mar   May »



Carl Phillips wins the Enkalon Trophy

by / Sunday, 21 April 2019 / Published in Blog / News, Motor Bike Racing


Carl Phillips Enkalon Trophy races, Bishopscourt Racing Circuit, 20th April. Winner of both superbike races and the Enkalon Trophy

The second round of the AJ Plumbing Supplies Ulster Superbike Championship and first of two race meetings over the Easter weekend took place at Bishopscourt today (Saturday 20th April) with the prestigious Enkalon Trophy up for grabs the meeting Promoted by the Motor Cycle Road Racing Club of Ireland (MCRRCI) attracted a strong line-up for the traditional holiday races at the Co. Down circuit.

The Enkalon Trophy is a who’s who of Irish racing, past winners include Ray McCullough, Alan Irwin, Johnny Rea, Gary Cowan, Sam McClements, Robert Dunlop, Phillip McCallen, Cameron Donald, and Alastair Seeley to name a few.

Carl Phillips was in unbeatable form winning both the Superbike races on his JMC Kawasaki and lifting the coveted Enkalon Trophy for the first time.

His two wins extending his lead in the championship adding to the clean sweep he had at the County Down circuit two weeks ago.

In the opening race he led from the start a lead he held through out the 10 lap race taking the win by just over 3 seconds from Alistair Kirk (AKR McCurry BMW) and David Haire (DHR BMW) who finished third Nico Mawhinney fourth on the Team Polaris Kawasaki. Road racers Adam McLean (McAdoo Kawasaki) and Derek McGee (CITP Kawasaki) completing the top six

Last years winner Gerard Kinghan was, out to defend his crown on the IFS Yamaha after a disappointing start to the new season but only managed to finish in eighth place the reigning USBK champion crashed out of the opening round of the championship and had to sit out race two due to a hand injury he suffered in the crash was clearly still suffering from the injury today.

Carl Phillips Enkalon Trophy races, Bishopscourt Racing Circuit, 20th April. Winner of both superbike races and the Enkalon Trophy

Race two again it was Phillips who took the early lead leaving Ali Kirk and Davey Haire to battle it out for the remaining two steps on the podium, this time it was Haire that came out on top taking the flag 0.9 seconds behind Philips with Kirk a further 1.4 seconds behind. Brian McCormack, Gerard Kinghan and Aaron Armstrong completing the top six.

While many of last years front runners in the 600 class are competing in the BSB championship the Supersport races turned out to be as competitive as ever,

Both outings were won by road racer Adam Mclean who was in a class of his own but there were close fought battles for the runner up spots in both races.

Mclean took the win in race one by 9 seconds Christian Elkin finished second with only ½ a second splitting Mark Conlin, Mark Hanna and Jack Waring for third fourth and fifth places.

Race two and again Mclean quickly asserted his dominance opening up a 3 second gap in the opening lap.

Elkin, Conlin and McGee fought it out for the runner up spot with Elkin and Conlin swapping places throughout the race but Elkin got the better of the hard charging Conlin finishing 16.3 seconds behind McLean and 2.2 seconds ahead of third place Conlin, with McGee in fourth a further 0.7 seconds behind.

Denver Robb and Cahal Graham finished 1st and 2nd in both the supertwin races with Marty Lennon and Kevin Lavery having a 3rd place each.

Jonny Irwin maintained his early unbeaten record in the pre injection class winning both races.

Stephen McKeown , Alvin Griffin and Scotlands Kriss Duncan finished in the same order in both of the moto3/ Lightweight supersport races


The Championship now moves a few miles up the coast for the traditional Easter Monday races at Kirkistown.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.