June 2019
« May   Jul »



AJ Plumbing Supplies Ulster Superbike Championship 5.

by / Saturday, 15 June 2019 / Published in Blog / News, Motor Bike Racing

Carl Philips took another step towards the Ulster Superbike Championship with another double win at Bishopscourt today (Saturday).

At one point it looked doubtful if any racing would take place. Morning practice was delayed for some time as heavy rain  battered the county down circuit.

Once practice eventually got underway an oil spill forced the organizing Mid Antrim 150 club to delay things further.

As conditions improved slightly racing got underway with all races shortened to 5 laps.

In the first superbike race Philips led from the off and by the end of lap one had opened a comfortable gap ahead of Ali Kirk  on his AKR McCurry Racing BMW he eventually took the win by 8.003 ahead of Kirk, Barry Graham was third a further 1.286 seconds behind,  2018 champion Gerard Kinghan still  having difficulties getting the hang of his IFS Yamaha R1 M was fourth and Gary McCoy completed the top five.

In the second race Philips again took the lead in the opening lap, this time out though he was pushed a bit harder by Ali Kirk, the only person to have beaten him so far this year.  Philips win this time out was a lesser margin of just under one and a half seconds, last step on the podium went to Aaron Armstrong , Barry Graham and Phillips J Mc Roofing  team mate Ryan Gibson was fifth.

Todays wins bring Phillips total wins to a remarkable nine out of the ten races this season in the championship.

Phillips also had a double win in the Lightweight Supersport races, Scotsman Kris Duncan and Stephen McCeown both having a second and third each in the two races.

By the time the Supersport class was out conditions had improved greatly and both races were held on a dry track.

Jason Lynn put on yet another dominant show winning both races.

Race one it was Kia McGreevey who led from the start but an incident on the second lap brought out the red flags.

On the restart again it was McGreevey who got the better start but his lead was short lived Lynn quickly took over at the front a lead he never gave up winning by a comfortable margin of  just over five seconds from round 4 double winner Mark Conlin who had got passed the early leader McGreevey, Christian Elkin was fourth and Michael Owens fifth.

Race two it was Lynn who led from the start, this time out he couldn’t break away from McGreevy who hung on to his tail for the entire race the pair crossing the line with just 1.696 seconds  between them, race one runner up Mark Conlin was third, Christian Elkin fourth and Mark Hanna fifth after a close fought battle for the final podium spot.


Cameron Dawson carried on his dominance in the Supersport 300/Junior Cup/ Young Guns with another double win.

Jonny Irwin won both the Pre Injection races.

Gary McCoy and Joe Loughlin had a win each in the supertwin races, both production twin races were won by Mark Abraham.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.