July 2019
« Jun   Aug »



AJ Plumbing Supplies Ulster Superbike Championship Round 6

by / Sunday, 21 July 2019 / Published in Blog / News, Motor Bike Racing

Carl Philips Wins the Neil Robinson Trophy.


Carl Philips increased his lead in the Ulster Superbike Championship and lifted the Neil Robinson Trophy this weekend at Bishopscourt Racing Circuit.


Having only suffering one defeat so far this season the JMcC Roofing Kawasaki rider notched up another two wins at the Mid Antrim 150 club event.


He did however have to withdraw from Saturdays Superbike race which was won by the reigning USBK champion Gerard Kinghan.

The organizers stopped the first race after three laps as rain started to fall and conditions became to dangerous to continue, on the restart Ryan Gibson shot to the front but his moment of glory was short lived when he crashed out in turn two bringing the red flags out for the second time.


After a rescheduling of the program the third attempt at running the race got under way. Starting well down the grid Philips wasted no time making up the lost places and within two laps was in command at the front of the field.


The second half of the five lap race it was Saturdays winner Gerard Kinghan who was setting the pace as he closed in on Philips, but his efforts were to late and Philips took the win o.359 seconds ahead of the Kinghan on his IFS Yamaha R1, Waterford man Brian McCormack finished in third a further five and a half seconds behind. Ali Kirk the only man to have beaten Philips so far this year was fourth and Gary McCoy closed out the top five.

In the feature Neil Robinson Memorial race Philips BSB experienced showed as again wasted no time in making his way to the front. This time he was closely followed by Ali Kirk and Gerard Kinghan a formation that lasted the entire 12 laps of the county down circuit. At the flag 1.75 seconds separating the leading trio. Brian McCormack finished in fourth some sixteen seconds adrift of the leaders with Jason Lynn fifth the first of the Supersport riders across the line.


Lynn had a pretty impressive weekend on his Walter Bell Yamaha R6 winning all three supersport races and mixed it with the front runners in two superbike races, finishing in fourth and fifth place in the two outings lifting the trophy for first 600 across the line in the Neil Robinson Memorial race.


Christian Elkin won two out of the three Supertwin races, Gary McCoy thwarting his dominance in the Donny Robinson memorial race. Adam Crooks had two wins out three starts in the production twin races with Mark Abraham winning the third.


Gareth Mackey had a hat trick of wins in the Superbike Cup races.


In the MOTO 3/L-WeightT Supersport/250GP/TZ350 14 year old Rossi Dobson shared the honours with Gary Scott, Dobson won two of the MOTO 3 races and Scott one.

Stephen McKeown narrowly missed out on a hat trick when Alvin Griffin beat him to the flag by 0.36 seconds in one of the Light Weight Supersport races.


Jonny Campbell had three comfortable wins in the SS300 races

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.