August 2019
« Jul   Sep »



AJ Plumbing Supplies Superbike Championship Round 7

by / Saturday, 17 August 2019 / Published in Blog / News, Motor Bike Racing

Ulster Superbike Championship Round 7

Including the Norman Brown Memorial Trophy.


17/08/19 Bishopscourt Racing Circuit. USBK Round 7. Aaron Armstrong winner of the Norman Brown Memorial Trophy.

Aaron Armstrong won the Norman Brown Memorial Trophy today at Bishopscourt.

Round seven of the Ulster Superbike championship was run at Bishopscourt Racing Circuit today with the winner of the second superbike race presented with the Norman Brown Memorial Trophy.

17/08/19 Bishopscourt Racing Circuit. USBK Round 7. Gerard Kinghan Superbike one winner

In the opening race it was Gary McCoy who set the pace off the line closely followed by Aaron Armstrong and pole man Gerard Kinghan, lap three Kinghan worked his way past the leading pair into the lead. A lead he held to the chequered flag, Armstrong was second, Jason Lynn on his Walter Bell Yamaha R6 had closed in on McCoy hassling him all the way to the flag but with the extra grunt of the big bike he managed to hold him off to grab the final podium place Lynn was the first 600 home in fourth.

Race two, again it was McCoy who got the hole shot off the line but his lead was short lived when he slid off on the first lap.

Aaron Armstrong winner of the Norman Brown Memorial Trophy. Bishopscourt Racing Circuit 17/08/19

Armstrong took over the lead with the hard pushing Kinghan on his tail. Mid way through the eight lap race Kinghan took to the front and immediately opened a gap ahead of Armstrong but a mistake at the hairpin saw the end of Kinghans challenge to retain the Norman Brown Cup for a third year in a row when he crashed out. Kinghans exit left Armstrong with a comfortable lead which he held to the flag winning the race by 6.7 seconds.

After a race long battle between Ryan Gibson and Jason Lynn it was Gibson who crossed the line first 0.3 seconds in front of yet another impressive effort by Lynn on his supersport 600 machine.

After the race an elated Armstrong posted on social media

Where do I even start! Probably the proudest day of my life, I am finally an Ulster Superbike race winner and no better one to possibly win than the Norman brown memorial race which was once won by my all time hero Joey Dunlop, absolutely buzzing, massive massive thanks to my family and sponsors hopefully we can keep the ball rolling! Thanks #21”

Championship leader Carl Philips sat out this weekends races.

In the Supersport races Lynn was in a class of his own comfortably winning both outings ahead of Mark Conlin and Kia McGreevey.

17/08/19 Bishopscourt Racing Circuit. USBK Round 7. Jason Lynn winner of both the Supersport Races.

Lynn missed three rounds of the Ulster Championship races competing in the BSB supersport championship but points earned this weekend and his current form puts him firmly back in the championship chase with three rounds still to go.


Aaron Armstrong was not the only family member to win today his dad Alan had a double win in the Superbike Cup class Keelan Smith and Andrew Dunlop shared the honours in the Supersport cup races.


Both Gary McCoy and Ryan Fenton had double wins in the Supertwin and Production twin races.

17/08/19 Bishopscourt Racing Circuit. USBK Round 7. Gary McCoy Supertwin race 1 & 2 winner

Jonny Irwin continued his dominance of the Pre Injection class with another two wins.


Stephen McKeown and Kris Duncan finished first and second in Lightwieght Supersport races and Jamie Lyons and Rossi Dobson were first and second in the moto 3


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.