September 2019
« Aug   Oct »



David Wood Memorial Trophy Races

by / Sunday, 22 September 2019 / Published in Blog / News, Motor Bike Racing

Ulster Superbike Championship Round 10

Jason Lynn retained the David Wood Memorial Trophy for a third year at Bishopscourt Racing Circuit this weekend.

Jason Lynn Nutt Travel Sail To Pole

Having first of all winning the Nutt Travel Sail To pole he followed this up with a faultless performance on Saturday with two comfortable wins.

Race one Lynn on his Walter Bell Yamaha R6 cruised to victory by almost eight and a half seconds ahead of his only Supersport Championship challenger Christian Elkin on his Bob Wylie R6 with Kia McGreevy only a fraction of a second behind in third after a close scrap for the runner up spot.

In the second of Saturdays races it was McGreevy who got the better start leading the way for the first two laps of the seven lap sprint race. Once Lynn made his move to the front he was again in a class of his own gapping the rest of the field lap on lap eventually taking the chequered flag 7.546 seconds in front of McGreevy with Mark Conlin on his magic Bullet R6 in third a further 3.7 seconds down the road.

Christian Elkins hopes of winning the 600 championship came to an end when Sam Laffins made an impossible move going into the high speed turn one causing the both of them to crash out heavily with Elkins bike destroyed it brought an end to his weekends racing.

In stark contrast to Saturdays almost perfect conditions, Sundays races were pretty dire, at it’s best the track was wet for the opening races after heavy overnight rain and got worse as the day went on.

The first of the Supersport races McGreevy again got the better start of the nine lap race but it was short lived when a crash on the opening lap brought out the red flags. On the restart it was McGreevy again who led off the line with Lynn dropping back into third place, McGreevy soon

Kia McGreevy winner of supersport race 3

opened a good lead on the reigning Supersport Champion, but around mid way Lynn who had moved into the runner up spot started to real him in closing the gap to half a bikes length, but McGreevy held on taking the win by just over half a second, Lynns first defeat of the year on home soil. Kyle Cross had a good race finishing in third place 8 seconds behind the front pair.

The final 600 race of the weekend was an absolute thriller.  Off the line it looked like McGreevey a bit of a wet weather expert was going to walk his second win of the meeting as he stormed off the line and opening a huge gap. If McGreevy was to win Lynn had to finish in at least second place to lift the David Wood trophy and at one point this looked doubtful as McGreevys lead in creased Lynn fell back and his second position was in doubt as Jack Waring and Kyle Cross challenged his position, Waring eventually got past into second place and at one point it looked as if Lynn had some sort of issue with his bike as he seemed to struggled to maintain his third place.

Four laps to go and McGreevy got held up by back markers giving the chasing pack to close in on him and at one point Waring took the lead, lap 9 McGreevy, Waring, Lynn and Cross were four abreast heading into the very fast turn one, Lynn went wide and took the lead in an brave move around the outside, once in front he pulled the pin and it was game over as he once again showed his class taking the win by 5.6 seconds with Waring in second and Cross in third, McGreevy took an excursion on to the grass on the final lap dropping him down to fourth.

With three wins and a runner up Lynn lifted the David Wood Memorial trophy presented to the 600 rider who accumulated the most points over the four races. The first rider to win the prestigious trophy three times.

The points scored over the weekend also clinched Lynn his fourth consecutive supersport championship.

Graeme Irwin winner of both Saturdays superbike races

In the Superbike Championship races with no Superstock Races at the Assen round of the BSB championship Graeme Irwin made a guest appearance on his Team 109 Kawaski and won both of Saturdays races.

He took the win 0.7 seconds ahead of Ali Kirk (AKR McCurry BMW) with Championship leader Carl Philips third.

Race two was a rerun of the first with pole man Irwin leading from the off this time out winning by 1.2 seconds from Kirk and Gerard Kinghan (IFS Yamaha) third.

Irwin sat out Sundays races and in the first of the two races Kirk led from the off but Kinghan stole the win on the final drag to the line taking the flag by just 0.16 seconds, Kirk was second and Ryan Gibson was third.

The final Superbike race of the weekend held in treacherous conditions Kirk led from the start closely chased by Carl Philips, Philips old Suzuki was no match for the BMW of Kirk who broke free and took a comfortable win some eight seconds ahead of Philips with Stephen McAdoo taking third a further 7 second seconds in arrears.

Another of the Irwin brothers, Ross had three wins in the Superbike Cup races on his Magic Bullet Kawasaki.

In the light weight supersport  Stephen McKeown won the opening race and clinched the championship, Scotsman Kris Duncan won the other three races.

Jamie Lyons had three wins in the moto 3 championship, Garry McCoy won the moto 3 opener and followed that up with a double in the supertwins.

Darryl Tweed and Mark Abraham each had two wins in the production twin class.

Cameron Dawson won all four Supersport 300/Young Guns races

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.