October 2019
« Sep   Nov »



Christian Iddon has won the Sunflower Trophy at Bishopscourt

by / Saturday, 26 October 2019 / Published in Blog / News, Motor Bike Racing

Following a close fought battle throughout the 12 lap encounter with last years trophy winner Richard Cooper the Tyco BMW by TAS rider clinched the trophy on his second attempt. His last time at the County Down circuit in 2016 he had to settle for a second place behind Glenn Irwin.

He didn’t however have it all his own way, in Saturdays Superbike opener it was the newly crowned British Championship Superstock 1000 winner who came out on top after Iddon slid off at turn two, unhurt. Gerard Kinghan taking advantage of Iddons demise brought his IFS Yamaha home in second place followed by the second Buildbase Suzuki of David Allingham.

In the feature Sunflower Race in much improved conditions the BSB championship pair fought a close battle throughout the 12 lap encounter. The Tyco BMW rider, in his final race for the team held the lead for the majority of the race but in the closing stages Cooper made it to the front a lead he held to the final lap when Iddon made a move as they caught up with some backmarkers and retook the lead and the chequered flag 0.3 seconds ahead of Cooper.

David Allingham also on a Buildbase Suzuki took the final podium place, closely followed by the first of the local riders Jason Lynn who put in an impressive performance in his debut superbike outing on his ex Burrows Racing Suzuki.

Another BSB regular Richard Kerr won both of the supersport races, he was first to the flag in the opening race ahead of Ross Patterson and Alastair Seeley, Eunan McGlinchey clinched the runner up spot in the 2nd outing followed Ross Patterson.

McGlinchey did however have victories in the two Supertwin races beating veteran racer and bookies favourite Jeremy McWilliams in both encounters with youngster Cameron Dawson taking two impressive third places in his first outings on a supertwin.

Ryan Gibson also on a KMR Kawasaki took fourth and Denver Robb finished the top five.

Cameron Dawson had a double win in the Supersport 300 class taking the flag 14 seconds ahead of runner up Rossi Dobson and Andrew Smyth.

Scotsman Logan Turner beat Alexander Rowan and Karl Lynch to secure a double victory in the young guns races, Gary Scott and Scott McCrory shared the spoils in the Junior Cup.

Scott Swan was another double winner in the moto 3 class, Gary Scott and Rossi Dobson shared the runner up spots.

Stephen McKeown continued his season long dominance of the lightweight supersport class and Michael MacKinnon won both of the pre injection races.

David Ingham and Aaron Uprichard had a win a piece in the superbike Cup, Michael MacKinnon won both the 600 club races

Lee Crawford won the opening sidecar race and Peter O’Neil the second outing




Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.