March 2020
« Feb   Apr »



Ulster Superbike Championship Round One 

by / Thursday, 12 March 2020 / Published in Blog / News, Circuit News, Motor Bike Racing

Ulster Superbike Championship Round One

Bishopscourt Racing Circuit 

21st March 2020 

With just over a week to go until the opening round of the 2020 Ulster Superbike championship the provisional entry list for the Superbikes and Supersport  classes have  been released. Any one still wanting an entry should contact race secretary Mark Harrison as soon as possible as no late entries will be accepted. 

Defending Champion Carl Phillips on new Suzuki machinery will be hoping his 2020 campaign starts off in the same way as last year when he dominated the opening rounds. 

There will of course be a lot of fast riders out to spoil Phillips party. 

Runner up in the last two years championships  Ali Kirk will be putting up a strong challenge on his AKR/McCurry Motorsport BMW. 

2018 champion Gerard Kinghan having had a season to get used to the IFS Yamaha R1 will no doubt be a font runner and a regular on the podium throughout the year. 

Aaron Armstrong had a taste of victory at the Norman Brown Memorial races in 2019 and several podium finishes he too will be hoping to put in a strong appearance. 

Another man on new machinery for 2020 and hoping for a few podium finishes this season is Nico Mawhinney. 

4 times Supersport Champion, Jason Lynn will be absent from the grid for the opening round. 

A full list of Superbike entries received so far are as below:-

No  Name  Machine  Town  Transponder no 
58  Lee Chambers  DR RACING BMW  Kilkeel  4863346 
11  Nico Mawhinney  Letrim cons BMW by team polaris  Castledawson  6507346 
7  Jonathan Harvey  Karcher Suzuki  Scarva  8168536 
22  Stephen McAdoo  Connollys service station Kawaski  Dungannon  6402900 
3  Ryan Gibson  JMC Kawaski 1000  Bandbridge  4171328 
53  Jason Moorhead  Suzuki 1000  Bandbridge  2291772 
4  Gerard Kinghan  Yamaha 1000  Randlestown  670097 
21  Aaron Armstrong  Hunky Dory Suzuki  Lisnaskea  4302643 
13  Gary McCoy  Suzuki 1000  Cookstown  955720 
99  Ross Irwin  Magic Bullet Kawaski ZX10  Carrickfergus  3986044 
89  Jonny Singleton  Kawaski 1000  Markethill  1254756 
77  Kevin Lavery  Moira Suzuki  Dungannon  5519667 
9  Barry Graham  BG Boats Kawaski ZX10  Kilkeel  8670571 
32  Carl Philips  DR/SB Racing Suzuki  Lisburn  380727 
101  Derek Craig  LML Racing Kawaski  Newtownabbey  504279 
47  Alistair Kirk  AKR/McCurry Motorsport BMW  Dromore  1324546 
93  Paul Cranston  Suzuki 1000  Moy   

 The Superbike cup is also likely to produce some close hard fought racing. With 2019 Champion Lee Chambers promoted to the Superbike class after taking the 2019 championship with a 134 point lead it could be a battle between last years the 2nd to 4th place men who were only separated by 44 points at the end of last year. 

Start list for round one is as follows. 

68  George Dawson  Suzuki GSXR 1000  Waringstown 
54  Matthew Caughey  SRT Suzuki  Ballywalter 
353  David Ambrose  SRT Honda  Cloughey 
56  Sean Crossan  BMW 1000  Londonderry 
130  Steven Love  Suzuki 1000  Antrim 
26  Barry Kelly  Bayview Contracts BMW 1000  Newry 
10  George Thompson  Kawaski 1000  Omagh 
34  Aaron Uprichard  LMLR Yamaha  Dundonald 
12  Alan Armstrong  Suzuki 1000  Lisnaskea 
15  Daniel Matheson  Leo Mathewson Ltd BMW  Newcastle 
66  Adam Crooks  s&j Davison Kawaski 1000  Dungannon 
31  Damien Carson  Yamaha 1000  Crumlin 
222  Michael Gahan  Newline Elite Racing Kawaski  Limavady 
49  Stephen McKeown  McKilop Motorcycles BMW  Maghera 
343  David Robinson  E.T.A Yamaha R1  Ballymoney 
82  Alan Graham  GI Plastering Kawaski ZX10  Kilkeel 
87  Daryl Aston  Kane Engineering Honda 1000  Portavogie 
30  Brian Graham  MPC Racing Kawaski  Kilkeel 
70  Derek oDonnell  Yamaha 600  Donegal 
91  John Shearer BMW 1000  Eglinton 
84  Liam Trainer  Yamaha 600  Enniskillen 

With 4 time Supersport winner Jason Lynn moving into the Superbike class this leaves the supersport championship open to a number of competitors. Mark Conlin will be hoping this could be his year but he will be up against some stiff opposition from the likes of Christian Elkin, the improving Kyle Cross who finished 4th last year, Jonny Campbell could also be a major challenger for the championship in 2020 having had a superb 1st season on a 600 last year and a host of others are capable of podium finishes. 

Start list for round one is as below:-

No  Name  Machine  Town  Transponder no 
114  Jonathan Patterson  Kawaski 600  Ballymahinch  6607471 
50  Kyle Cross  Dynamic Design Yamaha  Lisburn  8002334 
65  Shane Henderson  Fast Response Yamaha R6  Larne  1587392 
3  Mark Conlin  NRG Yamaha  Belfast  1111036 
155  Jonny Campbell  IMR Racing Triumph  Lisburn  7106204 
  Justin Milligan  Triumph 675R  Belfast  1879297 
83  Mark Kavanagh  Honda CBR 600 RR  Leigh on sea   
36  Chris Thompson  Triumph 675R  Omagh  4199341 
29  Ryan Fenton  NJT Racing Yamaha  Ballymoney  6874177 
Supersport Cup     
143  Wayne Bussell  Yamaha  Enniskillen  7592879 
24  Rudi Paul  Kawaski  Ballymoney  60790 
71  Paddy Lavery  Nugent Eng Yamaha R6  Blackwater Town  206329 
23  Stuart McCann  M.R.E Triumph  Lisbane  7219378 
85  Michael Irwin  McKillop Kawasaki  Donaghcloney   
8  Darryl Anderson  Yamaha  Garvagh  1364397 
44  Lewis Crompton  Kawaski  Bandbridge  4171625 
91  Graham McAleese  Honda  Limavady  5861560 
444  Andrew Linton  MSM Driving School Kawasaki  Ballynahinch  7826971 
84  Liam Trainer  Yamaha  Enniskillen  6550624 
232  Jack Oliver  Oliver Racing Kawaski  Limavady  5550486 
65  Jamie Boreland  Glenlough Enginnering Kawaski  Aghadowey   
84  Liam Trainer  Yamaha 600  Enniskillen  6550624 
70  Derek O Donnell  Yamaha 600  Donegal  2258738 


Gates open 16:00 on Friday 20th for rider setup. 

Gates open 07:00 Saturday morning. 

Scutineering from 19:00 – 20:30 fFriday and from 07:00 Saturday. 

Qualifying starts at 09:00. 

Entry £10 under 16s free if accompanied by an adult. 

Following qualifying there will be a full programme of races in all other classes with the first race due to start at 11am 

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.