May 2020
« Apr   Jun »



Sunflower Trophy Races Cancelled

by / Friday, 22 May 2020 / Published in Blog / News, Motor Bike Racing, Road Racing

The Sunflower Trophy Races, Northern Irelands biggest short circuit meeting has just become the latest victim of the Coronavirus Pandemic

PACEMAKER, BELFAST,  Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) celebrates winning the 2019 Sunflower trophy race at Bishopscourt. PICTURE BY STEPHEN DAVISON

The Hillsborough Club have made the following announcement on social media.

It is with great regret I have to write this on behalf of the Hillsborough Club. Due to the Cov-19 situation there will be no 2020 Sunflower Meeting, Can I thank all Sponsors, Riders, Medical, Time Keepers, Scrutineers,Race Control, Flag Personal, and all Marshals. We look forward to 2021 were we will be back bigger than ever, and thank Bishopscourt Circuit.

The JAS Finlay Sunflower Trophy Race meeting, has been running for just over 40 years now, and has become the Biggest national short circuit meeting in Northern Ireland.

Over the years, many of the Top British riders , along with competitors from further afield have competed in this event.

The event took it’s Sunflower title from Jim Findlay who has been the the title sponsor since it’s inception.  Jim  is one of those race sponsors, who prefers to remain out of the Limelight!

He is one of the most genuine sponsors within our sport, a modest humble man, he has given so much to the sport over the years, and still remains as enthusiastic as ever, not a Glory Hunter, Jim would much prefer to be watching with spectators, rather than been treated like Royalty!  

The term “Sunflower “ was born out of a New Product by the Finlay Food Group, and when Jim Finlay began sponsoring this event, It was thought, that this would be a good way of promoting his new Product!  43years on, and mention the word SUNFLOWER to anyone in Northern Ireland and they will always connect it to Motorcycling.

First held in 1977 at Aghadowey Joey Dunlop, was the first ever winner of the SUNFLOWER Trophy!  Over the years, this race has become the main event in the short circuit calendar, many  top British Supercup, and BSB stars have graced this meeting, Ron Haslam(Pepsi Suzuki),Brian Morrison ( Drambuie Honda) Carl Fogarty (Honda Britain) Jamie Whitham (Honda Britain/Suzuki), John Reynolds (Team Green Kawasaki), Rob McElnea, Paul Brown ( Loctite Yamahas), Jeremy McWilliams, Eddie Laycock (Millar Hondas/Yamahas)Jurgen & Patrick Van De Goorbergh (DocShopYamaha) Gary Cowan (DocShop Yamaha) Jonathon Rea ( Honda) Michael Laverty ( Honda/Suzuki) Chris Walker (PBM Honda) The List is ENDLESS! 

 Since the first race the event has taken place at Aghadowey, Kirkistown and now, Bishopscourt.

 The Hillsborough Club has been affiliated to the Motor Cycle Union Of Ireland (Ulster Centre) since the beginning in 1947 and is proud to have served the Ulster Centre in many capacities, including having 3 chairmen over the years. As well as running the Sunflower, the clubs principle event.

PACEMAKER, BELFAST,  Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) on his way to winning the 2019 Sunflower trophy race at Bishopscourt ahead of runner up Richard Cooper (Buildbase/ Hawk Suzuki).



Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.