October 2018
« Sep    



Richard Cooper made the perfect start to his debut Sunflower Trophy Races at Bishopscourt Racing Circuit today, Cooper qualified in pole position then following this up with a win in the opening Superbike race of the weekend. Still on a high from his win at the final British Superbike races at Brands Hatch last week

Sunflower Trophy Races 2018

Thursday, 18 October 2018 by

The scene is set for the 41st Sunflower Trophy  race meeting at the County Down Bishopscourt circuit, which takes place fri and sat 19th & 20th October. Six times a winner of this prestigious end of season feature race, TYCO BMWs Michael Laverty  will be aiming to win the Trophy for an amazing 7th time! The 37-year-old spearheads the

Dedication and Determination!! Back in 2016, a young up and coming junior moto cross rider was seriously injured in the final rounds of the Youth Moto Cross championships at Sailsbury in England, so bad was this accident, that Doctors at the hospital, told his parents, that he may never walk again!, riding motor cycles or

Welsh road racing enthusiast, Paul Williams , or Potchy to his friends,returns to the Sunflower Trophy races this weekend, hoping for better luck than last year,when he suffered a broken collarbone following a spill. The 43 year old self employed Mechanic has taken in a few of the Irish road races this year, , including

  “Originally enjoying the spills and thrills of sidecar racing as a passenger I saw the light and decided driving was my forte and Robinson Racing was born.” Making his Irish debut at the Sunflower Trophy Races is Formula 2 sidecar driver Simon Robinson and his passenger Phil Gravel. Now living in Haltwhistle ,the civil

Sunflower Trophy Races

Thursday, 18 October 2018 by

The wee village of Dromara in Northern Ireland has become famous for its former Road race stars, ,known to many as the Dromara Destroyers amongst the famous quartet was Ray McCullough. McCullough may be retired, but last year he gave an up and coming short circuit rider, permission to use the same helmet style that

Sunflower Trophy Practice Schedule ( All sessions Timed) 1. Pre Injection 2. Production Twins 3. Supertwins 4. Superbike Cup & F1 5. Superbike Pro 1 6. Young Guns Challenge / Junior Cup 7. Supersport Cup 8. Supersport Pro 9. Lightweight Supersport 10. Moto 3 / 250cc GP 11. Superbike and Superbike Cup Qualifiers 12. Supertwins

As in the past, the Sidecars have always featured a top class entry at the Sunflower Trophy races. In the past, the Sunflower Trophy races has seen such stars as Webster, Brindley, Molyneaux,Reeves,Holden,Birchalls, Saville, Wright, Fisher Howles  but to name a few,  At the moment, the sidecar entry is looking good again for 2018, with

Newcomer to Sunflower is Darren Cooper, better known for his prowess on the roads, Cooper was a short circuit rider for many years before retiring to concentrate on his business, Here Darren takes up the story; “ I began racing back in 2000,continued until 2005, my first race was at Aintree on a steel framed

Whilst all the attention may be focused around the visiting riders and the Sunflower Trophy Race, there is still plenty of action to be had from amongst our local lads, who are aiming to wrap up their 2018 campaign on a high . In the inaurgrural USBK Superbike championship, the battle for third place has